Story Listening with Kindergarteners

 

At iFLT18, I spoke with several teachers about Story Listening.  (*If you would like to get acquainted with Story Listening, The Stories First Foundation is the place to start.)  Story Listening was new for me, but after attending a one day workshop with Dr. Beniko Mason last summer, I was compelled to try it in my elementary classes.  I was surprised, intrigued and encouraged that I LOVED IT SO MUCH!  I think it is such a powerful approach, especially for the elementary teachers.

Here is a video of me teaching with SL.  This was a Kindergarten class and it was their 3rd story of the year.  Please note:  I am not an expert!  I was/am feeling my way through this method.

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Karina at |

    Megan, I cannot thank you enough. I am just starting out with CI and will try this as my first story!This is absolutely perfect for my first graders. Thank you for sharing all your wonderful stories for free on youtube!!

    I have made a transcript (with some tiny changes), and highlighted the high frequency verbs. Here it is for anyone that might benifit-

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TX1HUVxnBAln8GsOdA9l8LQpM-bVvgtuBp6uvO09sS4/edit?usp=sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar